Your Cart     0 Products         $0.00





Ladysmith Black Mambazo -- Ladysmith Black Mambazo & Friends (2CD)

Price: $16.99


Catalog No. : EVSD198
Product Title : Ladysmith Black Mambazo & Friends
Format : 2 CD
Artist(s) : Ladysmith Black Mambazo
Release Date : 2012
Package Weight : 120g
Publisher : Evosound
Other Information :

Ladysmith Black Mambazo was formed in 1964 by Joseph Shabalala due to a series of dreams he had, in which he heard certain isicathamiya harmonies (isicathamiya is the traditional music of the Zulu people). Following their success at various local wedding ceremonies, Shabalala entered the young group into isicathamiya competitions. The group were described as ‘so good’ that they were eventually forbidden to enter the competitions.

Their big breakthrough came in 1986 when they collaborated with Paul Simon, paving the way for international releases, making them widely known across the world.

Ladysmith Black Mambazo has been acknowledged in award ceremonies such as the Grammy Awards and Academy Awards. In 1988, the group received their first Grammy Award for the album Shaka Zulu, which was their first release recorded for the American market. Since then, they have won two more, and have been nominated for a total of thirteen times.

Recorded at many different times throughout their career, in many different places, the thread that ties them all together is the mutual respect and understanding among the musicians on each recording, and the desire to use music as a tool to spread that same respect and understanding to their audiences and around the world. This collection captures the beauty that emerges when Ladysmith Black Mambazo gets together with friends.

The 132-minute 2-disc collection contains 30 tracks ultimate collection featuring the world renowned South African group in collaboration with some of the most esteemed and influential recording artists, choirs and orchestras of the past several decades: Paul Simon, Lucky Dube, Emmylou Harris, Hugh Masekela, Natalie Merchant, The English Chamber Orchestra, Sarah McLachlan, Phoebe Snow, Taj Mahal and many more.

Track List

CD 1

1. Knocking on Heaven’s Door (with Dolly Parton)
2. Weeping (with Josh Groban and Vusi Mahlasela)
3. Homeless (with Paul Simon)
4. Ain’t No Sunshine (with Des’ree)
5. Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes (with Paul Simon)
6. Shosholoza (with Lucky Dube, Bhekumuzi Luthuli, Hugh Masekela,
Vusi Mahlasela, Nokukhanya, Phuzekhemisi & Thandiswa Mazwai)

7. World In Union (with PJ Powers)
8. Passage To Promise (with Andreas Vollenweider)
9. Amazing Grace/Nearer My God To Thee (with Emmy Lou Harris)
10. Chain Gang (with Lou Rawls)
11. Rain Rain Beautiful Rain (with Natalie Merchant)
12. Jabulani (Rejoice) (with The English Chamber Orchestra)
13. Sing Low Sweet Chariot (with China Black)
14. Bread Of Heaven (Wales Forever) (with Michael Ball,
The Lianelli Male Voice Choir & The Wales Squad Choir)

15. Dlondlobala Njalo (Soul Drummers Mix)

CD 2

1. Homeless (with Sarah McLachlan)
2. Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes (with Melissa Etheridge & Joe McBride)
3. Hello My Baby (with Zap Mama)
4. People Get Ready (with Phoebe Snow)
5. Abezizwe ( Uniting Nations Together ) (D’Influence mix)
6. Paradise Road (with Jannie Moolman)
7. One Blood (with Mbongeni Ngema)
8. Oh Happy Day (with Betty Griffin)
9. River of Dreams (with Bill Chapin)
10. Mbube (with Taj Mahal)
11. I’ll Take You There (with The Golden Gospel Singers)
12. Inkanyezi Nezazi (Spiral Staircase Remix)
13. Sohlabelela Hosana (with Nana Coyote Motijoane)
14. Angimboni Ofana Naye (with SABC Choir)
15. Mamizolo (with Women of Mambazo)

Parameters of Category: Categories
Label    Evosound
Format    CD
Genre    World Music

Customer Reviews:

There are yet no reviews for this product.
Please log in to write a review.