Your Cart     0 Products         $0.00





Anne Akiko Meyers -- Serenade- The Love Album (CD)

Price: $14.99


Catalog No. : EVSA334
Product Title : Serenade- The Love Album
Format : CD
Region Code : n/a
Picture Format : n/a
Audio : CD
Artist(s) : Anne Akiko Meyers
Release Date : 30 October 2015
Sub Title : n/a
Package Weight : 100g
Publisher : Entertainment One U.S., LP
Other Information :

Serenade: The Love Album is an exploration of love in all its dimensions, featuring Leonard Bernstein’s Serenade and 10 world premieres from seven living composer-arrangers. Serenade is inspired by Plato’s Symposium. Seven ancient Greek philosophers debate their thoughts about love at a raucous dinner party.

Meyers thought it fitting to commission seven renowned arrangers to create ten works for violin and orchestra from love-inspired music that have been used on stage and film.

Love Album celebrates the 50th wedding anniversary of her parents. Her father grew up playing jazz clubs in Chicago and still has a near obsession for watching classic movies. Cinema Paradiso’s Love Theme, reminds Meyers of the time she and her husband watched the movie together, when they were just beginning their own journey.


Leonard Bernstein: Serenade (after Plato’s “Symposium”) (1954)
1.    I. Phaedrus; Pausanias (Lento; Allegro marcato)
2.    II. Aristophanes (Allegretto)
3.    III. Eryximachus (Presto)
4.    IV. Agathon (Adagio)
5.    V. Socrates; Alcibiades (Molto tenuto; Allegro molto vivace)
6.    Ennio Morricone & Andrea Morricone: ‘Love Theme’ from “Cinema Paradiso” (arr. Angela Morley)
7.    David Raksin: Laura * (arr. Brad Dechter)
8.    George Gershwin: Someone to Watch Over Me * (arr. Brad Dechter)
9.    George Gershwin: Summertime * (arr. Brad Dechter)
10.    Ennio Morricone: ‘Gabriel’s Oboe’* from “The Mission” (arr. J.A.C. Redford)
11.    Michel Colombier: ‘Emmanuel * (arr. Steven Mercurio)
12.    Jacob Gade: Jalousie * (arr. Matthew Naughtin)
13.    Astor Piazzolla: Oblivion * (arr. Peter von Weinhardt)
14.    Leigh Harline: Wish Upon A Star * (arr. Adam Schoenberg & Steven Schoenberg)
15.    Sammy Fain: I’ll Be Seeing You * (arr. Brad Dechter)
16.    Leonard Bernstein: ‘Somewhere’ * from “West Side Story” (arr. J.A.C. Redford)

* denotes world premiere

Parameters of Category: Categories
Label    Evosound
Format    CD
Genre    Instrumental

Customer Reviews:

There are yet no reviews for this product.
Please log in to write a review.